A Day in Pictures: The Life of A Work at Home Mom

This is a little different type of post, but I thought it would be fun to capture my life for a day, as a wife and mom, and also an online-business-owner. I currently am working on two jobs from home–Sparkofamber.com (launched last week) and my Ebay store (I am a power-seller and sell primarily children’s clothing). So, here goes:

I get up at 6:55 a.m. It’s raining. Thing 1 (my oldest son–age 10) goes to the bus stop (he has already had breakfast). DH has just left for work. Thing 2 (my 6 year old son) attends afternoon Kindergarten and is still asleep. Thing 3 and I have breakfast:

breakfast timeI remember to check the pellet stove. We use a pellet stove to support renewable energy and save on our heating bills. DH filled it up before he left for work, so no need to add more pellets.

Harman Pellet stoveAfter breakfast, I get Thing #3 dressed for the day. I put on her Baltic Amber teething necklace also. I answer some ebay questions, while Thing #3 plays with her dolls:

ebay questiontoddler playing dollsEventually, Thing #2 comes downstairs and has breakfast and decides to read “Inside Mouse, Outside Mouse” to his little sister. I have already read that book more than a few times today. It’s her current favorite.

Brother reading to sisterI decide to work on search engine optimization for Sparkofamber.com. I also check out some new ideas for Amber jewelry.

Baltic Amber ideas
I get a really great idea for a piece of Amber jewelry. But, it’s time to make DS a snack. Then I help him get prepared for school, and he gets on the bus. I lay Thing #3 down for her nap. I work on putting my store on my business facebook page, and succeed. You can now shop on Sparkofamber.com directly from my facebook page!  A package arrives in the mail–it’s more Amber from Lithuania. I’ve been waiting for 20 days for this!

package of Baltic AmberThing #3 is up, so I don’t take the time to open it. I find her some Easter eggs to play with. Meanwhile I do the laundry, run the dishwasher, and plan dinner. I also clean off the table and counters in the kitchen.

Toddler playing with Easter eggsThing #3 is bored of Easter eggs. She starts throwing them around. It’s almost time for her brothers to be home from school. I decide to give her a snack of pudding. Meanwhile, I edit some Ebay pictures.

Ebay picture editingI work for awhile, then realize it’s just too quiet in the dining room. Thing #3 got REALLY bored eating that pudding, and decided to make a mess. Time to clean up and give her a bath.

pudding mess

The boys come home. They eat snacks and start on their homework.

homeworkI take time to look at some of the new Baltic Amber jewelry I have to list this week, after starting dinner. The jewelry is really beautiful, and I hope that my new business grows as people realize how stunning Baltic Amber is, not to mention its calming properties. I love the bracelets and earrings! Can’t wait to get these items on my website.

Baltic Amber BraceletBaltic Amber earringsBaltic Amber heart pendantDinner is cooking–dumplings and taquitos. DH comes home, and we sit down to eat dinner.

DINNER timeDinner is a time when we all talk and enjoy each others’ company. After dinner, DH and I usually spend some time talking, often while the kids play in our basement. Eventually, 8:00 rolls around, and the children are all in bed (this involves the whole night-time routine). DH now helps me prepare shipments for Ebay and Sparkofamber.com. DH is a great packager–probably better than I am. He is quite detail oriented.

SHIPPINGNow it’s time to get ready for tomorrow. I like to make sure the dishes are done and put away, and that the boys’ backpacks are ready for a new school day.

BACKPACKSWell, now I am writing this blog post. I have most of my work done for the day, and will soon be going to bed. I often end up working late at night to get everything finished. Some nights, I like to just take a break and go to bed early with DH.

This was a tiny snapshot of my day. . .all I could fit in one blog post! Thanks for sharing it with me.

 

 

About Julie @ Spark of Amber

Mom of three--two boys and a little girl. Founder of Spark of Amber (Sparkofamber.com). We sell authentic, stunning natural Baltic Amber Teething Necklaces and bracelets. We also sell calming Baltic Amber earrings, pendants, bracelets, anklets, and rings using only the best amber from Lithuania. Shipping is always fast and free in the United States.
This entry was posted in Managing Sparkofamber, Personal News, SparkofAmber News, Story of SparkofAmber and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

